Myanmar opens visa-on-arrival door

Tourism officials quoted government sources saying tourists from Japan, South Korea and China would be granted a visa-on-arrival for up to 28 days.

Myanmar opens visa-on-arrival door

Details were sketchy with none of the official websites for the Hotels and Tourism Ministry, or the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population posting any relevant details on the changes.

Tourists from all three countries should wait for the relevant ministries to make official announcements rather than relying on newspaper reports quoting hotel and tourism ministry sources.

Usually, announcements on visa requirements and changes to the country’s popular eVisa are posted on the Ministry of Labour, Immigration and Population website.

According to reports in local newspapers, including Myanmar Times and the Irrawaddy, the latest changes would extend the current visa-on-arrival service to citizens of China, Japan and South Korea at the country’s three international airports; Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Daw.

The Irrawaddy provided the most details claiming Chinese visitors would pay USD50 for the visa, while the fee would be waived for Japanese and South Koreans.

Travellers from all three countries would complete a form at the airport arrival hall and show evidence that they had USD1,000 in cash, a return air ticket and hotel bookings to cover their stay in the country.

Japanese and South Koreans would be able to apply for a visa-on-arrival at four specific land border checkpoints shared with Thailand; Tachileik, Myawaddy, Kawthaung and Htee Khee. The visa-on-arrival stay, valid for 28 days, cannot be extended.

The facility will apply for independent travellers and those travelling on package tours.